Clifton College proud holders of five school rugby cups

Clifton College proud holders of five school rugby cups

The College is celebrating currently holding all five rugby cups that can be won by schools in their group.

5 rugby cups

The cups are awarded to the winners of particular matches throughout the season, including matches between Clifton and Sherborne School, Blundell’s School and Monmouth School.

Clifton won these three cups last season and on 27th September also retained the Ryan Bresnahan Cup in the annual game - against Cheltenham on this occasion - which is held in memory of Clifton College pupil Ryan Bresnahan who died from meningitis in 2010.

The College also currently holds the Governor’s Cup which is contested annually between Clifton and Marlborough College in the oldest school rugby fixture, which first took place 152 years ago.

Clifton College played Marlborough on 8th October as part of the Daily Mail Schools Rugby Trophy competition and retained the cup.

Named the team to beat in this year’s Daily Mail Schools Trophy, Clifton College is currently third in the league behind Harrow and Sedbergh. Clifton’s 1st XV captain Carwyn Penny also recently started in the Premiership A-League for Gloucester in a hard fought match against Bristol.

Head of Rugby Development Matt Salter said: “We are really pleased to currently hold all five rugby cups and to be so well-placed in the league. However, we are still at an early stage in the season so need to make sure we stay focused and that the team continues to deliver top performances over the next few months.

“We had an excellent season last year so it would be great if we can repeat some of that success this year. The team had a gruelling pre-season altitude training camp in the French Alps and this has prepared us well at the start of the season which sees us play some of our toughest opposition.”

alps training boys